The South African Law Reform Commission will be hosting an ALRAESA Annual General Meeting & Executive Committee Meeting
Date: 30 October 2018
Venue: Garden Court Marine Parade
Durban: KwaZulu-Natal    

The South African Law Reform Commission will be hosting an International Conference on Access to Justice, Legal  Costs and Other Interventions
Date: 31 October -2 November 2018
Venue: Garden Court Marine Parade
Durban: KwaZulu-Natal  


The proposed establishment of ALRAESA was decided upon at a seminar on Best Practices in Law Reform held in Dar-es-Salaam, Tanzania, in October 2000 which was attended by representatives from a number of African countries.

ALRAESA was subsequently formally established in Windhoek, Namibia, in August 2003, at which occasion a draft Constitution for the Association was also approved. The law reform agencies of Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zanzibar and Zimbabwe formed part of the Association at the time of its establishment.

The purpose of ALRAESA, as set out in Article 3 of the approved Constitution, is to:

  • exchange and share ideas on best practices in law reform;
  • exchange and share ideas on the development of law, within the countries of the member agencies in accordance with the principles of human rights, good governance and rule of law; and
  • collectively contribute to the attainment of the objectives of member agencies (Article 4 of the Constitution sets out the objectives).

At a general meeting of ALRAESA in Cape Town, South Africa, in March 2004 it was decided to expand the membership to include Mauritius, Swaziland, Botswana and Rwanda.


With reference to Article 14 of the ALRAESA Constitution the ALRAESA Executive Committee consists of the following Member Countries:

  1. ChairpersonMalawi
  2. Vice-ChairpersonMauritius
  3. Secretary GeneralKenya
  4. Treasurer GeneralSouth Africa
  5. Ordinary MemberLesotho
  6. Ordinary Member – Zanzibar

To learn more about this organisation, visite ALRAESA website.